Rants from the Crib

An Ob/Gyn gone mad

The Love-Yourself Dilemma

I am being prodded by New Age love-yourselfers on one side and by my own too-pragmatic long-established self critic on the other.  I have been bombarded lately by messages to be “gentle with myself” and to “love myself exactly as I am.”  Now my question:  how on earth do we address shortcomings and correct faults if we love them exactly as they are?  Am I missing something here?  It seems a little bit of self-loathing goes a long way if you want to get yourself off your ass and do something you’ve been neglecting.  On the other hand, I can see that it would be very soothing to feel good about one’s self all the time.  It would contribute greatly to inner peace.  But is that just complacency?  I wonder… to love or not to love is really the final question.

Single Post Navigation

I love comments! Please leave me one!

