Rants from the Crib

An Ob/Gyn gone mad

Rants From the Crib

Trying to write a daily blog is a lot more difficult than it sounds.  I can think of something to rant about almost every single day, but it doesn’t always extend into anything long enough to be blogable.  Today I am ranting about food.

One of my biggest pet peeves is about people complaining about free food.  We have drug reps bring food to our office from time to time and to hear the complaints, you’d think they were trying to poison us.  “I bet it’s gonna be chicken again.  It’s always chicken.”  “That corn ain’t no good.  I done tried it.”  “They’re bringing lunch from there AGAIN??”  “The food from that place gives me diarrhea.”  The food is really for the doctors, but the people doing the bitching are almost always the clerical staff.  And what were they going to have for lunch otherwise?  Something stupendous, I am sure.  NEVER complain about food that you don’t have to pay for.  It’s just rude. 

I am also laughing at the ridiculousness of this whole Chick-Fil-Et crusade.  Everyone is up in arms because the founder of a corporation voiced an opinion.  Well, you don’t have to like what he said to realize that free speech is protected in this country.  Conversely, flocking to Chick-Fil-Et pretending to support free speech when you are actually promoting bigotry is a joke.  I just saw photos of our Chick-Fil-Et across the street and the crowds were CRAZY.  The lines were spilling out into the street and the cars were backed out around the whole mall.  I wouldn’t have eaten at Chick-Fil-Et today just because I knew the traffic would be ridiculous.  Nothing to do with a political statement at all.  Just avoiding obscene traffic.

Also, while bitching about food, I would like to say that I didn’t get out of morning clinic until 12:54 and my afternoon clinic started at 1:15.  And I had a circumcision to do over lunch.  This left me 21 minutes to eat AND do a circumcision.  So guess who downed a whole carton of yogurt and ran down the hall like a crazy person?  I really get upset when I don’t have a lunch break.  I could have also used a nap.

Also on my food peeves list:  what is up with the restrictions for people with reflux?  I can’t have tomatoes, citrus, chocolate, coffee or NSAIDS.  Observing these restrictions has been a real pain in the butt but they have helped.  We’re also not supposed to take Tums – the calcium in them triggers the acid-producing cells apparently.  The worst thing about my reflux?  My GI has been recently diagnosed with cancer and will not be coming back to work.  Since I like him, this has been particularly awful. 

Also on the subject of food, why is it so damn hard to resist?  I’m sitting here now, fighting the urge to go downstairs and grab a Poptart.  Poptarts are not even particularly good and are definitely not worth blowing a diet over.  Yet here I sit, mulling over Poptarts.  Brown sugar Poptarts.  Mmmm.  I can’t stick to a diet to save my life.  No amount of generated self-loathing, staring at myself naked in the mirror, weighing myself, putting on clothes to see how bad they look on, or dealing with my husband makes my resolve any better.  I am SICK of being beholden to food!  Why can’t I just forget about it?  Why can’t I just eat to survive?  Better yet, why can’t I just develop anorexia?  I eat when I’m sad.  I eat when I’m mad.  I eat when I’m busy.  I eat when food is put in front of me, even if I’m not hungry.  I eat when I’m happy, and call it a celebration.  And I don’t eat healthy food.  I don’t LIKE healthy food.  Why can’t I like healthy food?  I am concerned at my own poor nutrition.  And yet, the unhealthy overeating continues.  It and my weight are sources of continuing irritation, frustration and depression, but I just can’t keep my mouth shut and off the food.  When will enough be enough?  I will say I am doing OK today.  I had a bowl of cereal for breakfast and some yogurt with granola for lunch.  Now if I can just avoid the Poptarts.

Single Post Navigation

I love comments! Please leave me one!

