Rants from the Crib

An Ob/Gyn gone mad

Weekly Photo Challenge: Big

When I took this picture, I had no idea how BIG it was going to be.  We went to SeaWorld in 2009, and I took this picture in the Orca Show.  The girl in the photo is Dawn Brancheau, who a year or so later was killed by one of these whales.  I feel incredible sadness when I look at this picture and think of the life that was taken away, even though she was doing something she loved so much.  I can’t imagine the terror she felt as Tilikum dragged her under and under and under again until she could no longer breathe.  They say he grabbed her by her ponytail and whipped her around.  When I heard what had happened, I pulled up this old picture, and sure enough, here she was with one of her whales.  I am not sure which one this one is.  I hope it is not Tilikum.

Dawn Brancheau

Dawn Brancheau and the Whale

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Big

  1. what a beautiful picture but such a sad story.

  2. thanks for sharing.. yes, a very meaningful picture

  3. Sad story, but great photo!

  4. Great entry for this wek theme big 🙂

  5. Wow. The photo is haunting in light of the story of what happened. She does look happy. Your photo captures one of her many great, happy moments, I’m sure.

    • beadstork on said:

      Even her family begged SeaWorld not to destroy the whale because she loved them so much. As far as I know, the whale was not put down.

I love comments! Please leave me one!

