Rants from the Crib

An Ob/Gyn gone mad

Packing And Pacing

Today is packing day.  And tomorrow too.  But I have actually made amazing inroads into the packing situation by lunch time today.  Most everything on my to pack list, or sitting by the suitcase ready to pack, is ready to go.  I remembered at the last minute that my folks had taken a trip to Antarctica, and that they invested in all manner of thermals , and downs and fleece.  My mom, being the awesome person that she is, ran down to the FedEx place to overnight all their snow equipment so I would get it before I leave on Sunday!  Small issue here:  the suitcase is already full, but the fleece care package has not yet arrived.  I may have to pack yet another suitcase.  That will be unwieldy and expensive.

I think I am ready for the cold.  I have my ski jacket; my dad’s down jacket is coming, I have hats, and ski gloves, and thermal socks.  I have Thinsulate lined snow boots.  I have my camera, in its hard case, and with any luck I will get pictures of some beautiful snow.  My Kindle is on the charger and will be ready to go.  My MP3 and charger are ready to go.  If I pack a second suitcase, I may pack my jewelry-making supplies.  After all, I will be there for three weeks and there is only so much TV I can watch.  I am not much of a TV person.  I have more wretched forms to fill out for the freaking locum tenens people.  Apparently there is some standardized form that is used to apply to most locums jobs.  If that is the case, why didn’t he have me freaking fill it out for this job so it would already be done and ready to go?  This agency has been very kind, and helpful, but the right hand definitely does NOT know what the left hand is doing.  They have made me so many duplicate reservations for the car, the flight, and the hotel, that I am not even sure which one to use.

I am just marvelling at my good luck as it begins to sink in today that I never have to go back to that job again.  I am free of those negative, grumpy, unfriendly, cliquish, sarcastic people.  I will miss a lot of my patients, but I am friends with a lot of them on Facebook and we will be able to keep up.  I don’t have to deal any more with the hellish whirlpool of ill will that is the hospital merger going on in this town.  I am free to travel the world and work as I please!  Despite some setbacks (and there will always be setbacks), I feel very excited and ready to go.  We have the computer set up for Skype so the hubby and daughter and I can chat nightly while I am gone.  I will be able to exercise in the exercise room at the hotel.  I am racking up all kinds of frequent flyer miles.

I am still a bit nervous about the cold, but the flight is now arriving in daylight, which will make it easier to pack my car, scrape the ice, and find the hotel.  Then I must get up early the following morning and report to the hospital at 7:30 to get my tour and badge and keys and all that good stuff.  I don’t know if I will be working in the clinic or not my first day.  I do know I may have to take up drinking coffee again, even though it is bad for my stomach, because it will be so cold there in the mornings.  And I do love coffee.

My flight now has three legs, because they waited so damn long to book the travel.  I have to go from Huntsville to Atlanta, Atlanta to Denver,, and Denver to Dickinson.  My flight leaves at 5:30 AM.  Ugh.  We wil be getting up at the crack of doom, folks.  I do hate early mornings.  I just don’t think anyone should ever have to get up before the sun comes up.  It’s unnatural.

My daughter and I will be going out to do something special tonight since I will be gone so long.  I don’t yet know what, but if I know her, it will probably involve a trip to the Cracker Barrel.  That way Daddy can get some work done while we are out, and we can spend some Mommy-daughter time.  Maybe this will involve a pedicure.  I could sure use one.

So things are looking up.  Stuff is getting packed.  Plans are being made.  Soon I will be off on my new exciting travel journey!  I am sure Sunday will roll around very soon and we’ll be up in the dark, and racing for the airport.  I’ll keep y’all posted, hopefully with pictures of me in towering mountains of snow!

Single Post Navigation

I love comments! Please leave me one!

