Rants from the Crib

An Ob/Gyn gone mad

Mount Rushmore And A Bogus Return To Reality

Well, I had a very dichotomous day the day before yesterday.  The doc I’m working for gave me the day off until 3 PM so I could leave Rapid City and go see Mount Rushmore and some of the other many attractions in the area.  He recommended I see the Crazy Horse memorial also.  I happily packed up my camera and Traveling Guck and put on some thermal underwear and went off to explore the beautiful Black Hills.

Mount Rushmore is about 25 minutes out from Rapid City and the view is very pretty.  I stopped first to take some pictures of a mountain pass.

Rapid City SD 009

Mountain Pass 1

Mountain Pass 2

Mountain Pass 2

Then I drove on beautiful windy mountain roads, up and down until I got to Mount Rushmore.  To get close to the monument you had to walk through a hall of flags.

Flags at Mount Rushmoret

Flags at Mount Rushmoret

Under the flags, and there they were, those four big heads chopped out of the mountain!

Hall of Flags at Mount Rushmore

Hall of Flags at Mount Rushmore

And here were just the heads:

The Presidential Heads of Mount Rushmore

The Presidential Heads of Mount Rushmore

They were a little bit more time worn than I remember as a kid.  Those gray stains were definitely not there.  We know not even mountains last forever.

A nice lady took a picture of me with Guck so I could send it to my daughter.

Me and Guck at Mount Rushmore

Me and Guck at Mount Rushmore

Here is a profile view as I left Mount Rushmore and headed to the Crazy Horse memorial, a gargantuan carving, that when finished, will be bigger than Mount Rushmore.

Profile of George Washington

Profile of George Washington

Here is a beautiful lake Guck and I encountered on the way to Crazy Horse:

Beautiful Lake on the Way to Crazy Horse Monument

Beautiful Lake on the Way to Crazy Horse Monument

Guck of course had to have his picture taken.

Guck at the Mountain Lake

Guck at the Mountain Lake

Here is a side view of the Crazy Horse Monument in profile.  I thought it didn’t look like they’d gotten very much done, but Mom said they’ve made a ton of progress since she was last there.

Crazy Horse in Progress

Crazy Horse in Progress

Closer view of Crazy Horse’s profile:

Crazy Horse Profile

Crazy Horse Profile

The white sculpture behind Guck and me is what the Crazy Horse Monument is supposed to look like when it is finished.  You can see the full sized work in progress in the background.  Of course Guck insisted on this photo opportunity.

Two Crazy Horses, Me and the Guck

Two Crazy Horses, Me and the Guck

Guck found another photo opportunity in the Crazy Horse museum.  I find he makes a lovely addition to the sculpture.

Guck in Sculpture

Guck in Sculpture

On the way home, we saw a beautiful overpass.  I never thought I’d say an overpass was beautiful, but there’s a first time for everything.

Black Hills Overpass

Black Hills Overpass

I returned from my photography and sight-seeing trip feeling very relaxed and peaceful.  Alas, at 3:00 when the nice doctor handed the call duty back to me, I was promptly slammed with patients and had to spend the night in the damn hospital, which was kind of a downer to my otherwise lovely day.  But the trip was a great one, and maybe next time I’ll get to have my husband and daughter in tow.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Mount Rushmore And A Bogus Return To Reality

  1. Makes me want to rush out and have an adventure . . .

I love comments! Please leave me one!

