Rants from the Crib

An Ob/Gyn gone mad

Real Mommy Stuff: Chaperoning A Field Trip With 150 Screaming Kiddos In A Dark Cave

I realize it’s been a dog’s age since I’ve published anything here.  But for once this is a good thing.  You see, I’ve been so darn happy and content since I’ve started with the travel doctor thing – I work out of state for 2-3 weeks at a time, and that’s fun because of meeting new people and seeing new places and trying new things, plus I get a little break from family stuff.  Then I’m home for 2-3 weeks at a time, and when I’m here, I get to spend all my time with the fam – so far I’ve sewn my daughter a fabulous costume for her school play (which I did miss because DH and I were in Costa Rica for a much needed getaway, but hey, my folks went and took a bunch of pictures), gone to umpteen softball games and practices, taught my daughter how to do an off-loom beadweaving piece, cooked for my family, exercised, dropped 25 pounds, and accompanied my daughter on my first ever chaperone-field trip-Mommy adventure.  I will be sure to discuss this all in detail, if I can stop having fun long enough to sit down and write about it.

Yesterday I chaperoned a field trip of 7 classes of second graders to a beautiful place here in Alabama called Cathedral Caverns.  It was an amazing site and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes caves, traveling, awesome forces of nature and beautiful things to give it a try.  It is also a state park.  I followed the 3 buses in my van, which was quite the experience because those bus drivers drive with an extreme sense of purpose, I must say.  I won’t say they were dangerous, but they sure led us parent-types on a merry chase for an hour.

On arrival, I experienced a level of extreme screaming that I have not had since I myself was going on field trips.  Not just my daughter’s 7 second grade classes were there, but buses from several other schools.  The noise level is something like going into one of those humming Danger:  High Voltage transformer enclosures, and actually sticking one’s head into the transformer.

We finally gathered our flock together and entered the cave.  I do see now, if there has ever been any doubt, why I did not go into the field of elementary education.  But the cave trumped all the crazy kids and it was beautiful! 

So I had my first awesome experience as a chaperone and it was great!  After a picnic lunch, the kids panned for gemstones and we got to take home a big bag of rocks.  Also there was the gift shop of course, a necessary part of any travel experience!  We bought a beautiful agate geode slice with a stand and brought it home to add to A’s rock collection.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Real Mommy Stuff: Chaperoning A Field Trip With 150 Screaming Kiddos In A Dark Cave

  1. strawberryquicksand on said:

    I just love limestone caves. Those are some beautiful pictures.

I love comments! Please leave me one!

